Yes yes! I am still here!

OK people! Sorry for being absent for such a long time, but life is just too busy to post new stuff.

So… Let’s see what I’ve been up to… Surviving grad school… so far… Got a paper accepted for print in RNA Biology. Working on another manuscript, making figures, etc. Rotating in a cool lab and probably will try to stay in it if I can.

But anyway, back to yeast. A couple months ago I tried contacting WYeast regarding my findings on their Berliner Blend (yes I know, I just can’t leave it alone!) because I’m pretty sure they used Pediococcus instead of Lactobacillus in their last blend. Here is what I got:

After banging my head against the wall trying to isolate the bugs in that blend I finally managed to get 3 types of colonies on the plates.

White, smooth, round colonies – probably Saccharomyces. Do not break down bromocresol green (resulting in blue-transparent colonies) nor universal indicator (in which case they are orange). No acid production. Under microscope they look like yeast. Round cells, about 5-6um in diameter. Budding visible.

Beige, smooth, round colonies. Break down bromocresol green and universal indicator resulting in white colonies. Low acid production. Under microscope they look like HUGE yeast cells. Round, tear-shaped, and rarely oblong, approx 11-17um in diameter/length. Pretty sure I saw some budding but didn’t take pictures. Seems to me like that’s the Brettanomyces spp. even though they don’t look like the traditional “brain shaped” colonies. B. annomalus perhaps? Who knows.

Small to gigantic, watery, transparent, smooth colonies. Do not metabolize indicators resulting in watery colonies on every medium. Acid production. Under microscope they look like cocci in chains. Approx 0.6um in diameter. Gram +. Looks like Pediococcus or Enterococcus to me, which is weird because WY says they have Lactobacillus in that blend. No matter how much I tried, I never got any bacillus colonies. Maybe they changed it in 2011 and used Pedio instead of Lacto.

Also I’m pretty sure I isolated the Brett from the Old Ale blend. I know it’s only Brett L which you can just buy, but this is more fun. Brain shaped colonies, oblong cells, nuclei visible with Meth. Blue stain.

Attached are some pictures. I apologize for the quality. My camera has something on the inside which results in showing all sorts of junk that’s not really there, not to mention poor quality.

Brett?
Pedio?
What’s next? Well next I have to repeat all the isolations again because I pretty much lost everything over the last two months due to school. Also today I got a shipment of brew from my buddy Marc from WI (thank you dude!) so now I also have a bunch of beers from New Glarus to isolate bugs from as well as to enjoy. The upcoming semester should be easier and there will probably be more time for me to play with the yeast and finally try blending them.
Also last week I brewed something that can probably be called an Anglo-Scandinavian Wheat-IPA-Gruit. Those of you who know me will know that when it comes to gruits and winter brews, I’m all about the juniper. GIVE ME JUNIPER!!! But in any case, it’s on the dark side, lots of wheat, smoked malt, a ton of Fuggle, juniper berries, pink peppercorns, licorice root and lavender. Sounds crazy? Sure is! Started at 1.080 and spent its first 5 days at 60F then allowed to come up to room temperature. Today I popped up the bucked lid to peek inside and other than seeing juniper berries floating around, I was hit in the face by something that I can only describe as “the best smelling beer I’ve ever made!” It smells exactly how it feels in the forrest right now – earthy, leafy, grassy, minty, evergreens, and fresh. Just amazing. Let’s wait a few weeks and see how it turns out. If it’s as good as it smells right now I’ll post the recipe here.
Wish me luck!
And do post your thought and comments.
10 thoughts on “Yes yes! I am still here!

  1. Wouldn’t you like to spend more time on the golf
    course and less time on your back recuperating from
    severe back pain. After that, cool and then filter the oil and put it
    in each ear. These exercises should give you a good introduction to massage the
    face of art.

  2. Earlier than you actually start disassembling your tattoo machine
    you’ll want to look at it and if essential take notes so you will have all the correct items organized as you
    start the disassembly course of. It is a totally purposeful
    tattoo machine, if you need to seize your tattoo
    machine to see in case you discover instant differences between what you might be you utilizing and mine that is what
    you need to do. Most set screws can be tightened or loosened by hand or with a flat head screwdriver.

  3. Am blissful right this moment that he helped me and that i can proudly say
    that my husband is now with me again and he is now in love with me like by
    no means before. Am glad today that he helped me also and i can proudly
    say that my HUSBAND is now with me again and he’s now in love with me like never before.

    My husband who mentioned he would not have something to do with me once more called me and started begging me.
    he’s again now with a lot love and careing.

  4. Following a efficiency of his new song ‘What Do You Mean?” in front of lots of of
    fans in Rockefeller Plaza – lots of whom braved long waits and rainy climate to see the pop star dwell – the Beebs determined to pick a bone with the present’s director.

  5. While the TEDx Tumblr settles in with outdated GeoCities
    pages and Full House fan blogs of yore, you can go get all the nice TED and
    TEDx content you crave on the TED Tumblr I shall be writing there with my mates at TED, bringing you all the TEDx Talks, GIFs, and factoids fit to reblog.

  6. whereas fabric sofas soak up everything, leather
    tends to resist everything. Another important factor to consider in designing our living
    room is how to make it as comfortable and relaxing as possible for our
    guests. No antenna works for all situations and nothing makes getting the wrong antenna worse than a 15% restocking fee, or
    not being able to return it at all.

Leave a Reply

